Text Resize

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Free Car Seat Inspection Stations

Car Safety Seat Program - Rear-facing car seat with child correctly belted-in

The District of Columbia offers free car seat inspections as a courtesy to the residents.  You must be a District resident to use this service. 

Make your appointment, today!  

These can be done at the following locations:
 

District Department of Transportation 
Contact: Karen Gay karen.gay@dc.gov 
(202) 409-0234
55 M St., SE, Suite 400, Washington, DC 20003 
Car seat purchase information available. 
(Appointment only, Monday to Friday, 9 a.m.. to 3 p.m..)

United Medical Center
Contact: Sylvia Perkins sperkins@childrensnational.org 
(202) 471-4886
1310 Southern Ave., SE, Washington, DC 20020
(First Wednesday of the month, 10:30 a.m.. to 3:30 p.m..) 

Providence Hospital
1150 Varnum St., NE, Washington, DC 20018
(First, second and fourth Tuesdays, 10:30 a.m.. to 3:30 p.m..)
(Second, third and fourth Wednesdays, 10:30 a.m.. to 3:30 p.m..)
 
Town Hall Education Arts Recreation Campus or THEARC
1901 Mississippi Ave., SE, Washington, DC 20020
(Thursdays and Fridays, 10:30 a.m.. to 3:30 p.m..)

Providence Hospital 
Contact
: Cynthiana Lightfoot, DCEMSA1@aol.com 
1150 Varnum St., NE, Washington, DC 20018
(Thursday, 10 a.m.. to 3 p.m..)

DC Department of Motor Vehicles
Contact:
Larry Walker, larry.walker@dc.gov 
(202) 729-7125
DMV Inspection Station
1001 Half St., SW, Washington, DC 20024
(Tuesday and Wednesday, 7 a.m.. to 2 p.m..)

DC Metropolitan Police Department
Contact: Arlinda Page, arlinda.page@dc.gov
MPD Traffic Division
(202) 437-8030
501 New York Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20001
(Appointment only, 8 a.m.. to 12 p.m..)
(Every Tuesday, booster seat from 10 a.m.. to 6 p.m..)

Child Passenger Safety

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading killer of children, ages 14 and under. Four out of five car seats are not used correctly. Our mission is to ensure that children are properly secured in safety seats and seat belts while traveling –every ride–every time.

For Child Safety Seat Violations

The penalty for violating the District's child safety seat law is a fine of at least $75 and two points on the driver's license. This applies to any person operating a motor vehicle in the District of Columbia. The police can stop a driver in the District, solely for not having a child properly restrained. 

Motorists may contest the notice of infraction through the Department of Motor Vehicles, Adjudication Services. The following penalties are possible:

First Time: Offenders are given the choice of the following:

  • Pay a $75 fine
  • Attending a Child Restraint Safety Class ($25)

Second Time: Both penalties become mandatory

  • Pay a $75 fine
  • Attending a Child Restraint Safety Class ($25)

Third Time: Pay a $125 fine

Fourth or more: Pay a $150 fine

For further information, contact the DDOT Transportation Safety Division at (202) 671-2350.

Also, like us on Facebook, DC Car Seat Inspections